State Disaster Recovery Task Force

Group of coworkers at a conference table

Help with rebuilding and resilience strategies.

When hurricanes, wildfires and other disasters hit North Carolina, local governments may need state assistance as their communities recover. The State Emergency Response Team offers short-term help immediately after a disaster, while the State Disaster Recovery Task Force (SDRTF) supports and advises state agencies, such as the North Carolina Office of Recovery and Resiliency (NCORR) and North Carolina Emergency Management, as they address long-term recovery and build resiliency.

Recovery Support Functions

The SDRTF is made up of 12 committees called Recovery Support Functions (RSFs).

  • RSF 1: Emergency Management
  • RSF 2: Communications and Intergovernmental Relations
  • RSF 3: Nonprofit and Volunteerism
  • RSF 4: Health and Human Services
  • RSF 5: Transportation and Infrastructure
  • RSF 6: Business and Workforce Development
  • RSF 7: Environmental Preservation
  • RSF 8: Housing
  • RSF 9: Agriculture
  • RSF 10: Cultural Resources
  • RSF 11: Education
  • RSF 12: Long-Term Community Planning, Capacity Building and Resiliency

State and local agencies, nonprofits and community organizations active in disaster recovery and resilience-building contribute to RSFs. They provide technical expertise and policy direction to NCORR and North Carolina Emergency Management to address unmet needs and ongoing barriers to recovery. In addition, they facilitate communication and collaboration to identify vulnerabilities in affected areas, coordinate resources and establish best practices for disaster response and recovery to better prepare North Carolina for future disasters.